2004 Awards (8th Annual)

^ Winner ^

Best Picture

Before Sunset
^ Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind ^
Garden State
The Incredibles

Best Animated Feature

Ghost in the Shell 2: Innocence
^ The Incredibles ^
The Polar Express
Shrek 2
Team America: World Police

Best Foreign Language Film

^ Hero ^
House of Flying Daggers
Maria Full of Grace
The Motorcycle Diaries
A Very Long Engagement

Best Documentary

Control Room
^ Fahrenheit 9/11 ^
Metallica: Some Kind of Monster
Super Size Me
Touching the Void

Best Director

Clint Eastwood – Million Dollar Baby
^ Michel Gondry – Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind ^
Alexander Payne – Sideways
Martin Scorsese – The Aviator
Zhang Yimou – Hero

Best Actor

Jim Carrey – Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
Don Cheadle – Hotel Rwanda
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Aviator
Jamie Foxx – Ray
^ Paul Giamatti – Sideways ^

Best Actress

Julie Delpy – Before Sunset
Imelda Staunton – Vera Drake
Hilary Swank – Million Dollar Baby
Uma Thurman – Kill Bill: Vol. 2
^ Kate Winslet – Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind ^

Best Supporting Actor

David Carradine – Kill Bill: Vol. 2
^ Thomas Haden Church – Sideways ^
Jamie Foxx – Collateral
Clive Owen – Closer
Peter Sarsgaard – Kinsey

Best Supporting Actress

^ Cate Blanchett – The Aviator ^
Laura Linney – Kinsey
Virginia Madsen – Sideways
Natalie Portman – Closer
Sharon Warren – Ray

Best Original Screenplay

^ Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind – Charlie Kaufman ^
Garden State – Zach Braff
The Incredibles – Brad Bird
Kill Bill: Vol. 2 – Quentin Tarantino
Shaun of the Dead – Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg

Best Adapted Screenplay

Before Sunset – Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke
Closer – Patrick Marber
Million Dollar Baby – Paul Haggis
The Motorcycle Diaries – José Rivera
^ Sideways – Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor ^

Best Score

The Aviator – Howard Shore
Birth – Alexandre Desplat
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind – Jon Brion
Hero – Tan Dun
^ The Incredibles – Michael Giacchino ^

Best Editing

The Aviator – Thelma Schoonmaker
^ Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind – Valdís Óskarsdóttir ^
Hero – Angie Lam, Vincent Lee and Zhai Ru
House of Flying Daggers – Long Cheng
Kill Bill: Vol. 2 – Sally Menke

Best Cinematography

The Aviator – Robert Richardson
Collateral – Dion Beebe and Paul Cameron
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind – Ellen Kuras
^ Hero – Christopher Doyle ^
House of Flying Daggers – Xiaoding Zhao

Breakthrough Filmmaker

^ Zach Braff – Garden State ^
Kerry Conran – Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow
Jared Hess – Napoleon Dynamite
Joshua Marston – Maria Full of Grace
Edgar Wright – Shaun of the Dead

Breakthrough Performer

Zach Braff – Garden State
Jon Heder – Napoleon Dynamite
Bryce Dallas Howard – The Village
^ Catalina Sandino Moreno – Maria Full of Grace ^
Emmy Rossum – The Phantom of the Opera

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.