18th Annual OFCS Awards Announced


New York, NY – December 15, 2014 – The Online Film Critics Society are proud to announce the winners for the 18th annual OFCS awards for excellence in film.

Founded in 1997, the Online Film Critics Society is the largest and oldest organization of its kind, and a key catalyst in the expansion of Internet-based film journalism. The OFCS represents over 275 members worldwide.

“This year represented an opportunity to revisit our youth, look toward the future, and search deep inside our souls through the spectacular array of films shown on screen. We found courage, love and heartbreak in this year’s films and we’re proud to be able to honor them,” says OFCS Chair Cole Smithey. [Editor’s Note: This attribution is factually incorrect. The OFCS is run by a three-member Governing Committee, each being equal in position.]

Past OFCS Awards winners that went on to win the Academy Award for Best Picture include “12 Years a Slave,” “Argo,” “The Hurt Locker,” “American Beauty,” and “No Country for Old Men.”

Best Picture
The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Animated Feature
The Lego Movie

Best Film Not in the English Language
Two Days, One Night

Best Documentary
Life Itself

Best Director
Richard Linklater – Boyhood

Best Actor
Michael Keaton – Birdman

Best Actress
Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl

Best Supporting Actor
Edward Norton – Birdman

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette – Boyhood

Best Original Screenplay
The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Adapted Screenplay
Gone Girl

Best Editing

Best Cinematography
The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Non-U.S. Release (non-competitive category)
10,000 km
Entre Nós
Han Gong-ju
Hard to Be a God
The Look of Silence
The Salt of the Earth
What We Do in the Shadows
The Tribe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.